Tuesday , April 7 2020
Home / zimbabwe / Comesa pushes for Africa

Comesa pushes for Africa

The Chronicle

Prosper Ndlovu, Business Editor

AFRICA must develop a common regional policy, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa) has said.

As the world leaders brace for early December’s United Nations (UN) Conference on Climate Change, climate change issues, also known as COP25, Comesa believes Africa must have a common position to project her interests.

A two-day regional technical consultative meeting ended Saturday in Kigali between the Comesa and the East African Community (EAC) secretariats and the Rwandan government, to lay out a preparatory framework ahead COP25.

The secretariats, both beneficiaries of the European Union’s ACP’s global climate change alliance grant, agreed to organize joint technical engagements to come up with position papers for submission to guide Africa in the negotiations during COP25 sessions.

Pre This pre-COP25 regional consultative meeting will be used to develop a regional policy position for EAC partner states and Comesa member states.

Com The position paper will be presented to the African group of negotiators during the 25th conference of the United Nations framework convention on climate change sessions set for December 2019 in Madrid, Spain, ”said Comesa in a statement.

Both the EAC and the Comesa have an observer of the climate and the climate in the region.

Es Comesa's climate change advisor, Dr Maclay Kanyangarara, said.

The regional consultative meeting is being held by the EAC.

African countries to engage effectively in inter-governmental climate change, decision-making processes and eventual implementation of the decisions taken.

Regional economic communities have a critical role to play in supporting solutions to trans-boundary issues. During the meeting in Rwanda, issues of regional importance will be identified with a clear road map.

Since its establishment in 1994, Comesa has brought together 21 African members of a population of 560 million people into a cooperative framework for sustainable economic growth and prosperity through regional integration.

The combined list of member states participating in the negotiations are; Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eswatini, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Seychelles, Sudan, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Source link