Friday , September 24 2021

7 Arab countries object to Tel Aviv’s accession to the African Union

Last update : 03/08/2021

African Union

According to the Arab media, seven Arab countries have reported to the African Union that they object to the decision to grant Israel observer status in the continental organization, where the other 5 Arab countries and the League of Arab States have joined forces. today.

On July 22, the Israeli Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that “Tel Aviv has submitted its credentials to Ethiopian Ambassador Admasu Alali as an observer member to the African Union”.
Arab media reported that the embassies of Tunisia, Egypt, Algeria, Comoros, Djibouti, Mauritania and Libya in Addis Ababa, the capital of Ethiopia, presented “a verbal note to the President of the African Union Commission, Musa Faki”. “
In the note, “Objection to the decision to accept Tel Aviv as an observer member of the Union” was stated, while “the rejection of this step in the light of the support given by the Union to the Palestinian cause” was emphasized.
The memorandum added that the Zionist request was not considered in line with the union system and “constitutes an unacceptable procedural and political abuse of the discretion of the chairman of the commission”.
He stated that he “formally objected to this admission and requested that it be included in the discussion.”

Print This Post

Keywords: African Union; Tel Aviv

We announce to our dear readers that only constructive comments that are not contrary to good morals are included.
And thank you for your understanding.

Source link