Friday , February 28 2020
Home / india / BJP's Anil Vij, JJP's Ram Kumar Gautam to get ministerial berths in Khattar govt; Independents also being considered

BJP's Anil Vij, JJP's Ram Kumar Gautam to get ministerial berths in Khattar govt; Independents also being considered

Haryana govt formation LATEST updates: BJP MLAs Anil Vij, Banwari Lal, Seema Trikha, JJP MLAs Ram Kumar Gautam and Ishwar Singh are among the probables who are likely to get ministerial berths in the new Haryana government. Devi Lal's last Ranjit Singh Chautala is among the frontrunners for the ministerial post, PTI reported.

Vij, who was the minister in the previous term, the senior leader of the party. Names of other BJP MLAs are doing rounds for ministerial berths are reports of Mahaipal Dhanda, Ghanshyam Saraf, Kamal Gupta, Subhash Sudha and Deepak Mangla.

Haryana governor Satyadev Narayan Arya on Saturday at Bharatiya Janata Party to form the government and invited chief minister-elect Manohar Lal Khattar and his to-be deputy Jannayak Janata Party's Dushyant Chautala for a swearing-in ceremony on Sunday at 2.15 pm.

Khattar, who was unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP's legislative party in Haryana and said the second time, said 57 MLAs – 40 of the BJP, 10 of the JJP and seven Independents – staked a claim

Khattar said, adding that the ceremony will take place at 2.15 pm on Sunday as the country celebrates Diwali. Dushyant Chautala will take the oath as deputy chief minister, he said, dispelling reports which suggested that Chautala's mother Naina would be sworn as in deputy chief minister.

  Haryana govt formation LIVE updates: BJPs Anil Vij, JJPs Ram Kumar Gautam to get ministerial berths in Khattar govt; Independents also being considered

Haryana Chief Minister-designate Manohar Lal Khattar with JJP chief Dushyant Chautala meets Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya PTI

He added that some ministers would also take it on Sunday, but did not specify the number.

Earlier, Khattar and his cabinet colleagues submitted their resignations to the governor, which were accepted. The governor asked Khattar to continue as the interim chief minister took over the new government.

Run Shankar Prasad and BJP general secretary Arun Singh. At the meeting held in Chandigarh, Khattar's name was proposed by MLAs Anil Vij and Kanwar Pal and seconded by other party legislators.

Talking to reporters after the meeting, Prasad congratulated Khattar and said the party would provide a "stable, honest and effective" government in Haryana. However, Prasad clarified that the saffron party would not take the support of Sirsa MLA Gopal Kanda, a controversial politician who faces two abetment-to-suicide cases, to form the government in Haryana.

To a question on the new state cabinet, he said it was the prerogative of the chief minister, who would take a call in this regard after the oath-taking ceremony. Prasad clarified that only one person would be named to the post.

Khattar was a clean and stable government that would continue to run a "clean and stable" government.

Meanwhile, Chautala also reached the Union Territory to accompany Khattar to meet the governor and submit his party's letter of support. He also expressed joy after his father Ajay, who was lodged in the jail after a teacher recruitment scam, was granted two weeks' furlough.

The BJP staked claim to form the government in Haryana after clinching a post-poll alliance with the JJP, which won 10 seats in the 90-member Assembly in the 21 October polls by the post of deputy chief minister on Friday.

The Congress, which won 31 seats. Former Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh told Hooda on Saturday SUDDEN that Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi was happy with the party's performance.

Uneasy allies continue to butt heads

In Maharashtra, the tussle between the alliance partners BJP and the Shiv Sena continued, with the regional party seeking a written assurance from the BJP .

Talking to reporters after a meeting of newly-elected MLAs at Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray's residence in Mumbai, MLA Pratap Sarnaik said Thackeray wanted a written assurance from the BJP.

"Shiv Sena contested fewer numbers of seats in the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls. Uddhav Thackeray residence about power, "he told PTI.

Aaditya Thackeray, who was elected to the Worli constituency in Mumbai, was made chief minister in the next government. The BJP out of power, he said the Sena chief was "not interested".

"The Sena chief told us that he had no other options, but he was not interested. He told us that the BJP and Sena are bound together by Hindutva," said Sarnaik. He added that the leader of the Senate legislature party will be selected after the new MLAs take the office.

Meanwhile, Union minister and senior BJP leader Raosaheb Danve was told by Shiv Sena. "After Diwali, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis will discuss the issue of the government with Uddhavji," he said.

In the recent Maharashtra Assembly elections, the BJP won just 105 seats while its ally, the Sena, bagged 56 seats. The NCP and the Congress bagged 54 and 44 seats respectively in the 288-member House.

The Great Diwali Discount!
Unlock 75% more savings this festive season. Get Moneycontrol Pro for a year for Rs 289 only.
Coupon code: DIWALI. Offer valid till 10th November, 2019.

Source link