Tuesday , June 22 2021

Announced: Cricket’s ‘false field law’ and how Fakhar Zaman was defrauded by Kock



Written by Shamik Chakrabarty, edited by Explained Desk | Kolkata |

Updated: April 5, 2021 10:05:27

On a day when Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman announced the highest individual score for a chasing team at ODI – 193 – with 155 balls his dismissal it started a debate about a contentious aspect of cricket: the “pseudo-field”. As Pakistan lost 17 runs to South Africa at the second ODI in Johannesburg, the ending of Time saw the cricket world speak of another uncertain aspect of the game that contradicted the ‘spirit of the game’ and the laws governing the sport. . Like Mankading, “false land” triggers anger among those who call this playfulness unethical.

Newsletter | Click to get the best explainer of the day in your inbox

What was the incident?

On the first ball of the 50th in Pakistan’s chase, Zaman delivered Lungi Ngidi to Aiden Markram after a long hiatus. As the opener returned for a second run, South African goalkeeper Quinton de Kock signaled the shooter, giving the impression that the shot was on the non-striker side. Moving with his back to the field player, with de Kock’s signal, Zaman slowed down as he moved towards the end of the striker. However, the shot was originally aimed at the goalkeeper and ran away when Time was saddened into the crease. While Pakistan needed 31 runs to win the final, Zaman has scored the last 90 rounds in 48 deliveries, making it the last known hitman standing.

Did De Kock’s action fall for deception?

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) is the guardian of Cricket Laws of Cricket and 41.5.1 Law states: “ It is unfair for any field player to deliberately attempt by word or action to distract, deceive or prevent the batter after the batter after the batter. . “

What is the ICC’s stance on this issue?

“An intentional attempt to distract a striker” constitutes an “unfair game” in accordance with Article 41 of the “Standard Test, ODI and T20I Game Conditions” of the International Cricket Council (ICC). This is according to the ICC Code of Conduct for players and player support staff.

What is a fake field penalty?

The referees have the authority to impose a false five-round penalty on the batting team, but this law is open to interpretation. In fact, there is considerable uncertainty as to what constitutes a fake pitch or not.

fake field, Fakhar Zaman, Fakhar Zaman is over, Pakistan-South Africa, fake field fine, Quinton de Kock, Indian Express Fakhar Time. (AP Photo: Themba Hadebe)

Any previous incident?

Jonny Bairstow’s apparently bogus attempt to eliminate Steve Smith on day two of the fifth Ash Test in 2019 sparked a controversy. Bairstow dipped Smith, despite not having the ball. However, field referees Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena did not give Australia an extra five rounds.

In 2015, former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara dived Pakistani Ahmed Shehzad to bail him out during ODI and tried to bail them out even though the shot did not reach him. Yet in 2015 the fake field law was not part of the ICC gaming conditions.

In 2017, Australian Marnus Labuschagne was punished for attempting to shoot a shot without holding the ball in his hand to prevent a run in the JLT Cup (Australia’s local 50-over tournament).

📣 JOIN NOW 📣: Express Annotated Telegram Channel

Why is there uncertainty?

“As with any law like this, arbitrators will always decide what is ‘intentional’ and ‘deception’,” Fraser Stewart, MCC’s director of Cricket Laws, told ESPNcricinfo in 2017. The uncertainty lies in scope. For interpretation because the directive is not clear.

What was the reaction to Zaman’s dismissal?

Fans on social media also heavily condemned Kock’s action. Former Pakistani speed shooter Shoaib Akhtar asked if it was against the spirit of the game. “Is this run off by @ QuinnyDeKock69 against the spirit of the game? I’ll leave it up to you to decide,” said Akhtar.




Source link